Images

FoodSaver® FM5400 2-in-1 Food Preservation System

FoodSaver® FM5400 2-in-1 Food Preservation System

Details

FM5460-DRTV
Foodsaver FM5460-DRTV https://www.foodsaver.ca/on/demandware.static/-/Sites-master-catalog/default/dwf74019a9/images/highres/FM5460-DTC-1.jpg
299.99 CAD
$ 299.99
Availability: 

In Stock

Product Actions

Add to cart options
FoodSaver® FM5400 2-in-1 Food Preservation System

FoodSaver® FM5400 2-in-1 Food Preservation System

FM5460-DRTV
$ 299.99
- See final price in cart
Add to cart options

Includes over $60 in bonus items:

  • 1-11" X 10' Vacuum Seal Roll
  • 1-11" X 8' Expandable Vacuum Seal Roll
  • 3-Quart Vacuum Seal Bags
  • 2-Gallon Vacuum Seal Bags
  • 3-Quart Vacuum Zipper Bags
  • 2-Gallon Vacuum Zipper Bags
  • 4-Gallon Liquid Block Vacuum Seal Bags
  • 1-Regular Jar Sealer
  • 1-Bottle Stopper

PLUS: Over $100 in FoodSaver.com coupons for future purchases

Product Specs

  • Product dimensions: 7.41”H  x 16.23”W  x 7.80”D
  • Cord length: 30"
  • Weight: 10.4lb.
See More...

Additional Information

The FoodSaver® FM5400 Food Preservation System keeps food fresh up to 5X longer (compared to ordinary storage methods). Plus it’s easier to use by taking the time and guesswork out of bag making and sealing, and provides the 2-in-1 versatility for freezer, fridge and pantry storage.

The FM5400 System incorporates NEW features like the Express Bag Maker that reduces vacuum sealing steps by 50%* because it pre-seals the bottom end of your next bag each time. The Vacuum View Window allows you to see where you seal, giving you better control during vacuum sealing allowing you to reduce the roll waste up to 30 percent*. The Lower Seal and Cut Bar design allows you to use your countertop as your work space, providing ease and convenience for making custom-sized, ready-to-use bags automatically and the easy-access Open Roll Storage keeps track of bag inventory, so you always know when you're running low!

The FM5400 System also combines the 2-in-1 functionality that is unique to the FoodSaver® brand. It combines a powerful upright vacuum sealing system to vacuum seal bags for long-term storage in your freezer, with an integrated retractable handheld sealer to vacuum zipper bags and containers that keep refrigerated foods and pantry items fresh and delicious.

*Compared to previous FoodSaver® Food Preservation Systems.

  • Open Roll Storage keeps track of roll inventory
  • Vacuum View Window ensures bag is placed in the proper position for sealing
  • Express Bag Maker reduces bag making steps
  • Lower Roll Position makes it easier to size and cut bags
  • Ergonomic Sealing Angle provides ease and comfort
  • PulseVac™ Button controls vacuum function to seal delicate foods without crushing them
  • Moist/Dry Food Settings choose either, depending upon the type of food, for an optimal seal
  • One-Touch Modes preprogrammed for marinating food in less time and sealing accessories with an airtight seal
  • Brushed Aluminum Finish is smudge-resistant for easier clean up
  • Patented Drip Tray is removable and dishwasher safe
FoodSaver® FM5400 2-in-1 Food Preservation System is rated 4.4 out of 5 by 673.
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Example: Great features! I have owned 3 different style Foodsaver units over the years - with the oldest model still working - loved each of them and looked forward to improvements, must say that this particular model I have disliked since I purchased it new about 2 years (ish) ago- which (my own fault) didn't return - I kept trying to use - don't like that I seem to have to put something under the food to get it even with the sealing mechanism in order for it to work and it often doesn't. It isn't like I have had no experience with the system. wouldn't recommend this particular model and am looking and purchasing a different one
Date published: 2018-07-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I pulled the trigger After doing over a year of research and watching countless video's I settled on the FM5460. This appliance has already saved me money the first month with keeping our food fresh just by not having to drive 40 miles round trip to the store out in the country. My wife loves to be able to go to the freezer and see thru the bags on what she wants to cook for dinner. The pulse system is one of the best features for our family and that equals fresh sealed bread and cookies. Having a daughter in college that visits on weekends we can seal a bag of goodies to take back with her. Most of the good reviews that you have read was spot on about the FM5460 so it's so hard to add.
Date published: 2017-03-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it! I've been using the Foodsaver systems for years and love that I can cook extra and freeze it for leftovers for a busy day. One thing ijust started for storing leftovers such as stew, spaghetti, beans, that type stuff or packaging hamburger meat to freeze, is once sealed I flatten them, lay them stacked in the freezer that way, less bulk and makes for more freezer room. This model is my favorite, I love the changes they made especially adding the pulse option and a window to see the end of the bag your sealing. Much better then guessing. The price is a little steep, however if you faithfully use it, you get your money's worth.
Date published: 2016-12-06
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Strange Design and Finicky The ergonomics on the FM5460 leave a lot to be desired. You make bags on the bottom and seal the bags on the top, which may be great for moist or wet items, but fails when trying to seal two servings in a single bag. You have to lift the bag up to vacuum-seal, try to keep the servings from sliding together, and press the START bar. You need three hands! I see this as a machine targeted for a small market segment and not at all practical if you package multiple servings or use smaller bags. Or only have two arms. You may like it. I sent it back.
Date published: 2016-11-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Extremely Pleased!!! My previous Food Saver that i had for 2 years finally wore out! I use it just about every day!! I ordered the newer model and was so excited to receive it and resume saving food & money again. I also received bonus containers & ordered extra items. There's not enough time to give examples of what I used my machine for. Being single for some time I no longer cook for large family, but buying things in bulk, portioning servings and vacuum sealing is just awesome. Protecting important documents, sealing cooker meals to take camping are just a few examples. It compliments my other kitchen gadgets!!
Date published: 2017-11-10
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Poor design I bought this a little over a month ago and tried to keep giving it a chance, however the design is terrible and makes the process extremely frustrating due to the fact that you have to try to hold your food bag in place and press the bar which you seem to have to press just right. Sometimes it works and sometimes it doesn't. Then it tends to only remove part of the air, or will start the vacuum process and release after 2 seconds. I have watched tutorials and read the directions, but still hate the design and wish I would have just taken it back.
Date published: 2017-11-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is fantastic! I bought this a couple of weeks ago. I keep it handy on my kitchen counter and have sealed leftovers, onions and garlic (no more smell in my refrigerator) and have used it to break down larger packages of meats into individual servings and freeze. Makes it so convenient when I only want to pull out a certain number of pieces. With all my Christmas baking coming up, I have even pre-measured sugar, brown sugar and flour and sealed into specific sizes so all I have to do is grab the size I want (i.e. 1 cup bags, 2-4 cup bags, etc.). This will help my holiday baking go so much smoother. I love it more each day!
Date published: 2017-12-12
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Could have been excellent This is my third Foodsaver. This machine is so nice for making bags but the vacuum is 4-inches high and when the food is in the bag you insert it in the vacuum and you are to press a bar under it to start the vacuum and seal. I find it impossible to hold the full bag straight in the vacuum and press the bar at the same time. I have to use a 4-inch box to set my bags on. This is poor planning especially for the price. Also the sealer for the refrigerator zip locks has a hose that retracts but feels cheap. Makes me wonder how long it will take for it to stop retracting.
Date published: 2017-07-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Totally awesome machine I have used vacuum seal a meal machines for over 30 and food sealer is the best. My old food saver has gone to a friend and still works well, I wanted an upgrade. For years my husband and I put up venison, and the meat is still fresh a year later. It's better than having a locker put up the meat for us because we can see the meat through the bags. Keeping that extra loaf of bread fresh on sale day is easy. It is as fresh as the day I purchased it. There is nothing so easy as bagging items out of the garden, running the harvest through the food saver and having fresh food in December. No homemaker and kitchen should be without a food saver sealer.
Date published: 2018-10-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love the new features Over the last 30 years I have bought the next up grade to the Food Savers systems. Living in Alaska and being a fishing family we have vacuum sealed and frozen many a fish. I bought this new Food Preservation system because of the new feature of having the next bag sealed. I have found that I don't waste as much bag material as before and it is quicker having the next bag sealed already. I love the feature of the manual vacuum, I now feel like I can vacuum pack soft items without having them crushed. I would recommend this product and looking forward to experimenting with the marinating feature.
Date published: 2016-12-08
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Almost Ideal The FM5460 operates perfectly - vacuums and seals quickly, both the base unit as well as the handheld sealer, with little waste in bag usage. However, I feel that the design suffers with having to hold the bag so high up to insert it into the window. It's difficult to have several items, such as pork chops, stay in single layer position when at such an angle. Lower machines have the advantage of the bag being supported by the countertop. I solved the problem by turning a 13x9" pan over so the bag could rest on that for support. That's my one disappointment with this model.
Date published: 2017-04-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great features and looks great on my counter! I have had the opportunity to use this wonderful machine a few times since I received it. I was always skeptical of the Foodsaver machines, but after using this, I'm hooked. This one in particular has great features. My favorite features are the bag makers and the rapid marinate mode. Both save time for me, and you can't beat that. Also it helps that it looks great on my countertop. The quality and features of this machine hooked me into using this all the time! I did receive this machine as a product sample to review. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]
Date published: 2016-08-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Major Upgrade I have owned FoodSavers for years now and have been happy overall with it. But, then I saw this new model and had to have it. And am I glad I did. They didn't just change a couple of minor things and change the appearance. They rebuilt it from the bottom up and I can't believe how much they improved it. It's truly a new machine that is even easier to use. If yours is starting to get old and needs replacement, get this one. You will be very happy with this new machine. I'm glad I did.
Date published: 2016-08-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from No bag waste! I bought this for my mother in law as an early Christmas present to seal the wild game during the hunting season. She is more old school when it comes to the food saver and appears that all the new features are a bit complicating but I love the new features. I also have a stay on the counter version but mine uses up a lot of bag due to where it places the seam. This one is phenomenal! it's as if you purchased the bag already made. This is a major plus along with it getting the next bag ready. I have not used the jar or bottle accessories and probably never will but I do use a marinater and this is awesome as well. Can't say enough. Great buy!
Date published: 2016-11-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Food Saver in general I bought an early model (not sure if a Food Saver or not) about 20 years ago. I used it quite a bit and was very delighted with what it could do. I used it enough over the last 15 years that it fially stopped working. :( I am now ready to purchase again and will buy a Food Saver brand. As a side mote the first thing I sealed were two sponges and lo and bhold---Still Sealed!! Also I found that when sealing raw meats I partially freeze it so the juices are close to frozen but not quite. Doing that prevents the juices from being vacuumed out of the meat. Sale day at the grocery store means food and MONEY saved. Be sure to date your sealed bags. Absolutely Love the Sealer I had. Worked as advertised and we saved a Lot of money. Highly Recommend. Chrissie K. Avid Sealer
Date published: 2019-04-03
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Keeping an open mind I previously owned a 2000 series refurbished as I did not want to invest alot in case it set in the closet until the next church yard sale. I loved it! The only thing missing was vacuum override to seal before crushing food. I decided to purchase the 5460 model for pulse vacuuming. I sent my 2000 to my daughter and several times have wished I had sent her the 5460. Several reasons: bag storage is nice, cutting blade is good feature but I like to double seal and this one requires seal, open, pull bag a small amount, close seal. Pulling out the bag can be difficult because sometimes it sticks to seal gasket. This machine requires you to start the vacuum process then override to get second seal. Have tried just seal button but get nothing. Since you can stop the vacuuming by hitting seal to avoid crushing bread, etc. the pulse vacuum is really not a needed feature in my opinion. Liked the 2000 because you hit seal and sealed. The design looks nice but would rather have sealer lower to counter. Holding the bag where it needs to be and starting the vacuum process can be a bit tricky if you have physical limitations with your hands, also using more bag material. Like retractable wand for vacuuming bags and containers but it was very hard to separate the tube(was afraid I would end up breaking it.) Just little comments: would never have bought a bottle or jar sealer so including them for me was not a big deal, also coupons included had a 20% off on a machine. I just bought one so again useless. I will keep the machine (I used the box to ship my old one lol) and will update my review should my opinions change as I use it. Love a foodsaver for preparing meals ahead of time, making bulk purchases. Do wish they would have more kinds of rewards and not be out of stock on so many. I am giving my honest opinion as it stands now and I purchased my machine it was not given to me to use and review. Hope this helps. Sometimes simpler is better.
Date published: 2016-09-02
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Poor design I bought this and am very unhappy wwith it. I should have paid attention to the issues folks have with the design. It is difficult to balance and correctly align the loaded bag four inches above the surface. I've used Foodsavers for years and am glad I didn't throw out my last one (which is quite old and needs coddling) as this one goes back tomorrow!
Date published: 2017-02-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great product Love everything about this FoodSaver Sealer. My only suggestion would be to have the capability of keeping the type of food you are sealing DRY or MOIST set so you don't have to set it at every seal. If I'm sealing meat I have to remember to set it to moist for each piece. It would be easier to set it when you turn it on each time. I have forgotten to set it after each seal, and it automatically defaults to dry.
Date published: 2016-12-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from So far, so good. I have been using the food saver to cook sous vide. It has been relatively easy to use, although it can be challenging when using it to vacuum marinated meats or vegetables and when using it to vacuum meats with bones that make it more difficult for the bag to line up evenly when it is inserted into the vacuum chamber. The only downside is that I went through the provided roll of regular bags and the pre-made regular bags. Was wondering whether the bags with the moisture strips can be used to cook sous vide (with the moisture strip positioned outside of the waterbath. Once I get my bag refills, I plan to use the food saver to freeze veggies and fruits from the farmer's market for later in the year.
Date published: 2017-08-07
Rated 1 out of 5 by from UGH I bought this almost 2 yrs ago thinking it would speed up our deer meat processing & other bulk food purchase processing WRONG!!!! It takes two (2) hands to get the vaccum/sealer to work which as some know doesn't work cuz sometimes takes 1 hand to lict up enough to level out enough to seal. REALLY SORRY I SPENT THE MONEY TO REPLACE MY OLDER Food saver for a "NEWER" UPGRADER" version! WHAT A MISTAKE!! If you don't want to repackage bulck foods go for it but make sure you have 4 hands to work it , it takes 2 hands to work the vaccum seal & 2 hands to keep it even to get it to stay level. I wouldn't recommend this series to anyone. The attached vacuum sealer doesn't work that great either. Had the separate vacuum bag sealer & really. It gave up after about 6 months of use.
Date published: 2017-07-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome! Love love love my foodsaver! I would never go on living the way i lived before I had it. It's so easy to be able to cook whatever you want, just pop it out from the fridge or the freezer, and bam! Guaranteed freshness from the moment you open the bags, I don't have to go shopping everyday just to be sure that the meal we are going to eat will be fresh, now I can stock up on meat at discounted price take our home, seal it and it's freshness, and bam! It will be waiting for you to eat it that same level of freshness that you left it at before. I highly highly recommend food saver!!! It has not only saved me a bunch of money, but it's also saved my cooking reputation with my family. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]
Date published: 2017-03-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Sealer I bought this a few weeks ago and will say it is the hardest one to figure out. But once you got it, it is the BEST. It is so much easier to make bags to use and the seal is much better. I love that you can set it for moist packages and not have to pre freeze meats before sealing them. I bought my first machine over 20 years ago. This one is so advanced that should be around a long time.
Date published: 2016-11-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Locked in Freshness This new machine replaces an older model, we grow a lot of fresh herbs and spices. As we pick and dry, we package using the food saver. Since the first freeze was last weekend, we now have about 10 pounds of fresh green tomatoes. Which will be fresh green fried tomatoes, over the winter. I buy bulk beef, package it and have great meals all winter and summer. As produce comes in season, we bulk buy and process everything. A fresh ear of corn on a snowy day, makes you think its 4 of July. Best money anyone can ever spend, buying a foodsaver.
Date published: 2016-11-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wish we had upgraded long ago! We have used a sealer for more than fifteen years. Always struggling with the sealer overheating and having to wait on it to cool. As we buy in bulk and at farmer's markets, then separate in serving or recipe size; we decide to upgrade to this sealer because it was suppose to repeat seal without overheating. We recently bought 50 lbs. of green chili. We roasted, peeled, and sealed from before 10:00am to after 3:00pm. The Food Saver FM5420 did not even hesitate. I did not receive this Food Saver for free.
Date published: 2016-10-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from We bought this Food Saver about a month ago and it has saved us so much. We have cooked things ahead of time and frozen them for later. We have used the Food Saver to compact our foods for camping (definitely waterproof). It has saved us so much. I can't wait to discover more about our Food Saver. By the way marinating meats is so awesome. Love it. Thanks so much Food Saver. Now my daughter and my niece want one. (Maybe for Christmas). Love. Love Love our Food Save. I even use it to reseal cereal, chips and other food keeps them fresh and ready to go. Again thanks Food Saver
Date published: 2017-08-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Really nice product Purchased a month or so ago, and use it frequently. The product delivers as advertised in all respects. Pressing the two areas on the lever to start the vac/seal process really works well and avoids the fuss of hitting the "sweet spot" on the full automatic machines. Compact design makes it fine to keep on the counter ready to go tho work.
Date published: 2016-12-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love the features on this new model !! This is replacing what I think is the first model ever sold that lasted me for years! I love the bag storage and making feature, the pulse, the retractable cord for the bag and container attachment. All in all a great new design. (actually all the features!!) I did read one review that said her retractable cord didn't work, I just want to ask her; did you pull it out all the way? Mine didn't either till I pulled it out all the way then it retracted right away.
Date published: 2018-02-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I have no clue why I waited so long - Great Choice I researched far too long, I spotted this model FM5460 and was leaning for months while I "looked around" and I simply should have jumped on it during one of the sales! Simply the easiest to operate, not much counter space required and you don't have to scramble for bag material because it's always inside. You WILL NOT be disappointed!
Date published: 2018-10-16
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Design not the most convenient I've had several foodsavers over the years -- from the very first model to this latest one. This one is the most difficult to use. The vacuum area is so high up you need an extra 3-4 inches of bag to get to it. I have to prop up my food 3 inches in order to minimize the amount of bag you need. Older models had the vacuum closer to the counter so you could lay your product on the counter with the lip of the bag just inside the vacuum space. If they design one with the vacuum area at counter level, I'd gladly trade this one in for a more practical and useful one.
Date published: 2018-08-14
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Difficult to Use This is my second food saver. The first one was great - easy to use, very reliable, no trouble until it just died. The new one, the 5480 that I purchased is much more difficult to use, finicky about what it will seal, and the first time I pulled out the "retractable" cord for the marinator, it would not retract. FoodSaver is a good product - have saved a lot of money and waste over the years but this machine just isn't what it is supposed to be.
Date published: 2017-03-12
  • y_2019, m_7, d_22, h_22
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.13
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_673
  • loc_en_CA, sid_FM5460-DRTV, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_foodsaver-jcs