FoodSaver® Jar Sealer, Wide-Mouth

Details

T03-0023-01P
Foodsaver T03-0023-01P https://www.foodsaver.ca/on/demandware.static/-/Sites-master-catalog/default/dwc24dd2c7/images/highres/T03-0023-01P-3.jpg
0.00 N/A
Put a lid on it with the FoodSaver® Wide-Mouth Jar Sealer to preserve freshness and texture of food items and dry goods. Fits wide-mouth mason-type jars.
See More...

Additional Information

The FoodSaver® Wide-Mouth Jar Sealer fits on your own Ball® and Kerr® Mason jars and works with FoodSaver® vacuum sealer systems to keep goods fresh longer. Ideal for liquids, fragile foods and dry goods like brown sugar, spices, dried fruit and coconut. FoodSaver® Wide-Mouth Jar Sealers replace standard Mason-type jar lids to create a vacuum seal that locks out air to preserve freshness. Not to be used for canning.
  • For use with wide mouth size mason-type jars and lids
  • BPA free, stain resistant and odor proof
  • Dishwasher safe
FoodSaver® Jar Sealer, Wide-Mouth is rated 4.3 out of 5 by 968.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great tried and true accessory! I have had a food savor for almost 30 years. I bought my first one at the LA County Fair in So Cal and have continued to update since then. This is one of my all time favorite pieces of equipment! I live in a very old homestead house, so keeping my foodstuffs sealed and safe from critters can sometimes be a challenge, but with this Jar Sealer, I can store all types of foods safely in Mason Jars! Very economical! If I want to save the recipes or directions off the packaging, I just tape them to the jar. I could live without a lot of fancy kitchen devices, but never without my FoodSavor and Jar sealer attachment!!!
Date published: 2013-01-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works very well Have used this product for several months and it works very well. In all but one case, unit sealed the large mouth jars the first time. In the one case where we used it on a 1/2 pint jar, it would not seal until we took a queue from the reviews of the small mouth sealer. We used three lids, and it sealed on the first try. It was clear to us that the neck on the 1/2 pint jar was not deep enough to allow the sealer to seat properly. Also purchased the small mouth sealer at same time. This has also sealed its jars on the first try in all but one case. In that case, we used the two-lid trick to get a seal on the first try.
Date published: 2014-07-13
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Food Saver & Accessories My last purchase was for a large jar seal for the vacuum lid. The old one lasted so long I truly do not remember the date. I have use Food Saver Vacuum system for at least thirty years and feel it should be a household item the same as a coffee maker. The price you pay for the system up front to accessories there after more than pay for themselves. Veggies, cold cuts and so much more last 3 to 5 times longer in the refrigerator as well as bagging meats for the freezer to prevent freezer burn and defrost as close to fresh for frozen meat weeks and months later. If you truly want to save ( BIG ) money you will buy any of these products.
Date published: 2015-08-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Glass Jar sealer is a valuable accessory We inherited an older model Food Saver that included the wide mouth jar sealer and have used it for years. I stored a wide variety of dehydrated fruits and vegetables in wide mouth glass jars 14 years ago and just opened a few recently and found them to still smell and taste fine. Although such long storage is uncommon, it does illustrate how well the vacuum holds up in canning jars. Jar storage is easy to use and once emptied the jars are easily washed and reusable. I am ordering a regular size jar sealer to augment my sealer capabilities. The old wide mouth jar sealer works fine on my new model Food Saver.
Date published: 2011-08-05
Rated 4 out of 5 by from The only flawed piece to this whole set Like so many others have experienced, the regular jar sealer is dysfunctional. Every other accessory works like a champ and I love my GameSaver Deluxe Plus soooo very much! I use the Ball brand jars. I tried the regular sealer on 17 jar/lid combos and none worked at all! That's 289 attempts and I was very, very put out, since the wide mouth sealer has worked every single time I use it. Then I read about putting a second lid upside down on top of the lid to be sealed and PRESTO! not a failure since. Once again, I am a happy food saving fool. Use this trick and don't lose your mind over it.
Date published: 2015-08-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Sealing lids are good concept not as easy to use I love the concept of this lid and bought several different sizes of Ball and Mason jars and was excited at the prospect of having a very inexpensive way to seal food without having to purchase the more expensive vacuum sealing containers from Foodsaver. The only issue is that it take between 2-3 times to vacuum seal the jars until they take. It is a very finicky thing. I know they have had these sealing/canning lids for years and I was excited to start working with them but they do take a liittle monkeying around to make the seal catch. In the absence of having another alternative to this, i would recommend this but be aware that it is not as easy as 1-2-3 and may take a couple trys.
Date published: 2012-07-08
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Tried everything and it will not seal I just got my V4440, jar sealer and bags from Foodsaver. I also recieved a brand new case of Ball Regular sized half pint jars. It WILL NOT SEAL THEM. I've tried every lid and jar multiple times, I've tried the 2 lid method, I've tried reversing the gasket and I even tried boiling the lids (which by the way is VERY inconvenient) and nothing works. I don't know if it's my sealer or is the attachment but I'm very disappointed since I had a lot of things I planned on putting in jars today and now all of those jars are sitting in the fridge without being sealed. I had also planned on using this in conjuction with my Sous Vide.
Date published: 2017-01-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Jar Sealer I received the wide mouth jar sealer with my original food saver (the white which is no longer available) years ago....! I honestly only used it now and then back then. I am now using it fairly frequently...and I absolutely LOVE it!!! Grapes...they last maybe a week, possibly a little longer just sitting out which means you have to eat them fast or risk throwing them out. Sealed in a jar in the fridge, they last easily 3 weeks or more...of course I seal lots of other foods as well...just used grapes as an example.....I am running into a slight problem though, one that is easily remedied....I NEED a regular sized sealer!
Date published: 2020-03-02
Rated 3 out of 5 by from WORKS....BUT I sealed about 10 jars before I started having issues When I removed the jar sealer the jar lid would come loose. (no vacuum in the jar) Tried cleaning the seal, new lids and even new jars but it stilled failed. After many attempts I almost gave up. In my last attempt and out of frustration, I jerk the sealing hose out of the jar sealer and that fixed my problem. I did a number of seals using this method and it never failed. Hope this helps someone with the same issue. I also have the wide mouth version and I have done about 4 or 5 seal with no issues. But with further use the same problem may reoccur.
Date published: 2015-10-09
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Seal Small Jars I have had a large cap jar sealer for many years and it's very easy to use after a little practice and works like a charm. I recently got the small cap jar sealer and it's exactly like the large one in just a smaller size. As I said, it takes a little practice in positioning it properly so that the jar seals correctly but, once you figure that out it should be easy going every time after that. It's like a puzzle that's hard to solve but the moment you do you can go back and do it each and every time with ease. So I highly recommend this if you want to seal your Ball or Mason jars with the reusable lids. Personally, I do not know any other way you could sell them.
Date published: 2016-01-20
Rated 2 out of 5 by from good idea, butt... Regular mouth jar sealer ONLY works using two lids. (I turn the top one upside down). It is about to get a fender washer epoxied to the gadget. Tell your Tool & Die machinist to face off about a sixteenth inch from the piece that forms the inside of the part on their injection mold. That will make up the difference another lid does by adding a smidgen more plastic Another use I've found is, when using granny's hand-me-down, old aqua jars, I like to seal a lid on each empty jar when not in use. Then when I get it out next year, if it ain't sealed, it either gets a zinc lid w/ribber ring, or its turned into "decor". PLEASE get in touch with your factory's injection mold dept. Obviously one of the molds has an issue. Everything else works fine.
Date published: 2014-03-13
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Incomplete Item Description To clarify Foodsavers incomplete item description. They do not include a hose! My vacuum sealer, bought years ago, assumed you would only need the hose if you bought the jar sealer. Current jar sealer orders apparently assume you already have the hose. You have to buy the hose separately - at additional cost, if you buy individual jar sealers. If you buy the combo pack with wide mouth and regular, it comes with a hose, adding to the confusion. Apparently Foodsaver couldn't be bothered to clarify this in the product description or emails requesting a missing hose. But a 30 minute call to a third party call center cleared it right up! SMH.
Date published: 2020-04-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A FoodSaver Best This isn't the first jar sealer from FoodSaver I've purchased. I have both standard & wide mouth jar sealers. I bought these ones for my Mom for Christmas because she saw mine. I just wish they would make the Gem size jar sealer, because the old jars look so nice in my pantry. The jar sealers are a must have if you do a lot of stocking up. I find Tupperware gets stinky but storing in glass doesn't. Great for storing dry goods & I also use it for freezing soups, broths, etc. 100% make it part of your FoodSaver accessories, I'd be lost without them both.
Date published: 2016-12-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product! Ignore all dolt's negative reviews. A lot of negative reviewers displaying their astonishingly low IQ to the public here. Place a clean lid on a clean glass jar mouth and use this to suck the air out. Remove this and screw the lid ring on snugly. If you can't figure that out, ask a 1st grader to show you. Better use a video camera so you won't have to bother another 1st grader next time you want to use it again. Very popular item during COVID outbreak. None available. That alone shows their value. Not just for Preppers, good just to keep crackers, nuts, and other food fresh after opening - just takes a few seconds and super easy.
Date published: 2020-04-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good, once you master the technnique It took me several attempts to seal the mason jars. I first thought it was defective, but then went online and searched for tips on making it work. Out of the box, it takes many tries to get a good seal (for me about one out of every 12 attempts or so). Many people commented that if you can't get a good seal, try using two lids, one stacked upon the other and then trying the seal. That trick seems to work every time. It does tend to seal one lid to the other, but if you pry them apart carefully, the bottom one will retain a vacuum seal on the jar. Once I figured out this trick, it seems to work!
Date published: 2017-04-27
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Small Canning Lid Needs Improvement I just bought your basic Foodsaver and find it is a great tool. I was very interested in the canning jar accessories and thought it would be a big savings since it is reusable. I tried the large jar and it worked wonders; just as it was advertised. Since I had a number of regular jars I thought that would be a good way to use the jars. The first time I tried it, it worked great. After I allowed it to rest, it went on STRIKE. Yes, it no longer wanted to seal. I discovered sometimes the lids were twisted. I am of the opinion the rubber gasket needs help. .
Date published: 2013-01-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fantastic I read a lot of reviews on this product before purchasing. Some good, some bad. They mentioned a problem with it not sealing all the time and made suggestions about putting an extra lid with a hole in it. I have found that if you make sure the sealing edges are clean you will get a good seal about 95% of the time if you follow these simple suggestions. Clean sealing edges, place lid on jar, place jar sealer on jar, press vac/seal, when the vacuum part is finished unplug the vacuum hose from the jar sealer or the vacuum sealer to release pressure. Take the jar sealer off the mason jar and you should have a great seal. I always store unused sour cream this way and never have any separation while in the fridge. Love this kitchen tool!!!
Date published: 2015-08-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good, useful product I use this wide mouth jar sealer regularly since I purchased it and I wish I would have gotten one sooner. It is useful to seal my mason jars and store things that I access every few days instead of just using a screw on lid or actually canning the item. I keep flour, other dry goods, sauces, leftovers, etc. in wide mouth jars and the jar sealer just keeps things fresher, longer. I will purchase a regular size jar sealer now because of the usefulness of the wide mouth one.
Date published: 2011-12-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great idea! When I first got my Foodsaver I realized how beneficial the jar sealer might be, so I ordered the large size right away. I had NO idea how much I would use it. Flour, rice, crackers, dog treats, spices. I can mix up a big batch of my fajita seasoning and vacuum it and it lasts for months. We live in a dry climate but even that doesn’t prevent foods from getting stale. The jar sealer does! I recently purchased the small size for spices and rubs and smaller quantities of dry goods. I use them regularly and would recommend them.
Date published: 2018-10-15
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Incomplete Item Description To clarify Foodsavers incomplete item description. They do not include a hose! My vacuum sealer, bought years ago, assumed you would only need the hose if you bought the jar sealer. Current jar sealer orders apparently assume you already have the hose. You have to buy the hose separately - at additional cost, if you buy individual jar sealers. If you buy the combo pack with wide mouth and regular, it comes with a hose, adding to the confusion. Apparently Foodsaver couldn't be bothered to clarify this in the product description or emails requesting a missing hose. But a 30 minute call to a third party call center cleared it right up! SMH.
Date published: 2020-04-29
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Accessory Hose "NOT INCLUDED" Have had the Vacuum Sealer for years so decided to get both of the FoodSaver® Wide-Mouth Jar Sealer,Regular and an extra box of Bags.Well,when the Product arrived there were NO Accessory Hose's! Just assumed that they came with the Hose's,what good is the Jar Sealer without the Accessory Hose! Now that we have them and cannot use them we are forced to purchased the Accessory Hose and Pay for the Shipping that was FREE due to any Order that was over $25.00. Accessory Hose "NOT INCLUDED" should be written in with the Over View of the Products!
Date published: 2014-01-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Idea! This is really a great product! I do a lot of canning so I have lots of jars/lids. I can store so much in mason jars instead of the bags/rolls which saves $$. This product pays for itself over and over. I can buy bulk yeast, flour, oats, rice, etc. and store in jars instead of taking up valuable freezer space. I also dry my own veggies and spices and this is a great way to store them. It's a recent purchase so I'm looking forward to all of the other items I can store this way! Overall, great money-saver!
Date published: 2012-04-13
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Really keeps food fresh Love the sealers, however, like quite a few other users, the wide mouth works flawlessly but the regular mouth is finicky. We have found if you take a thumb tack and poke a hole in the center of a lid and then use it with the lid that is sealing the jar, it works about 95% of the time on the first try. We keep our lid with the hole right with the sealer and have used the same lid for over a year. We use our jar lids over and over with this method with a minimum of fuss.
Date published: 2013-01-06
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Soooooo frustrating!!! My wife bought the wide mouth and regular jar sealers. The wide mouth works great. The regular mouth is AWEFUL! We have only gotten two of the regular mouth jars to seal. It acts like it is drawing a vacuum but the lid comes off easily when removing the sealer. We have tried several brands of jars with very low success. It is not popping the lid off, the lid just isn't sealed at all. Overall, the design looks nice, it was affordable, and it's easy to maintain. However none of that matters since it doesn't work.
Date published: 2012-06-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A long term food storage must! Long term food storage is greatly simplified when using these mason jar adapters. As a Prepper and a Mormon to boot, I have explored the many different ways to help keep my food supply fresh. For that purpose, this jar sealer is a MUST HAVE! This system allows me to work with a range of food and non-food items that wold be difficult to store otherwise. For example, I find using this jar sealer invaluable for storing cooking oils. I highly recommend this product to anyone that is serious about keeping their goods fresh for a longer term. I would feel lost without it.
Date published: 2015-01-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This seals Mason jars using their own lids! I looked at this jar sealer a few times, thinking it was kind of pricey for something I was only going to be able to use on one jar of food at a time -- because it looked and sounded like something you would leave on the jar once it was sealed. It took reading through a LOT of reviews before I finally discovered that it actually vacuums a regular jar lid onto the jar. Then you take the sealing unit off, leaving the jar sealed! You don't even need to put the metal screw ring on, although if your jar is going to get bumped around (like in the fridge), it might help prevent the lid from being accidentally dislodged. It doesn't preserve food, like canning does, but it made a bunch of fresh herbs last nearly two weeks in my refrigerator before starting to go brown! I also sealed my yeast and several types of flours in jars to store in the refrigerator, which is going to save me money on expensive ingredients -- love it!
Date published: 2014-03-06
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Problems with this one We have the sealer for the wide mouth jars and have never had a single problem with it. Ordered the regular jar sealer and finally tonight got around to using it. It does not work. One jar sealed after half a dozen tries. The others we gave up on. The lid comes right off with the sealer lid. And the rubber seal has to be put back in quite frequently. Looking at the two sealers, the regular mouth sealer has a different seal configuration than the wide mouth jar sealer. Wonder if that is the problem. Guess I could try what one lady suggested - use two lids to get it to seal. Otherwise its going back for either a replacement or a refund as it does not work as it should. The wide mouth one never fails to seal the first time. I do not know if the one I have is defective or if it is a design flaw.
Date published: 2012-12-13
Rated 4 out of 5 by from A little tricky. The wide mouth jar sealer works exceptionally well. However, the regular mouth jar sealer is not so good. I have found that if I put two lids on the jar and vacuum it it works almost every time. The extra lid will come off and the one next to the jar is sealed.
Date published: 2012-07-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent for a humid climate I bought the wide mouth half-gallon and quart canning jars with lids specifically so I could seal various types of flours, nuts, soup crackers, cereals, powdered milk and instant potatoes. All I do is rest the seal on top of the jar, put the sealer on top, attach the hose, press the canister button and it automatically sucks the air out. It actually seals the lid onto the jar. The seal can be used over and over since I am not actually going through the canning process. Even made labels for the jars on the computer. I love it.
Date published: 2012-02-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A Great Product! I bought both the large mouth and regular mouth jar sealers. They both work well and as represented. The same jar lids can be used over and over. The regular mouth device requires placing a second lid over the first to get a good seal, and drilling a hole in the upper lid prevents it from sealing to the lid against the jar--I keep my "tool" lid in the box with the sealer. I also recommend placing the lids in the jar sealer before placing the device on the jar, which ensures the silicone gasket will not deform being pushed over the lid placed on top of the jar--This is especially important for the regular mouth jar sealer. Once the little quirks and tips are worked out, I get a perfect seal every time. Currently I'm using vacuum sealed canning jars for dry storing dried beans, powdered sugar, dried herbs, rice and granola cereal, and I'm just getting going!.
Date published: 2014-05-05
  • y_2022, m_12, d_2, h_21
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.34
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_968
  • loc_en_CA, sid_T03-0023-01P, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_foodsaver-jcs